Geomagnetic Effects on Power Systems

Introduction

Geomagnetic disturbances can have a serious effect on power systems. Currents induced in power lines flow to ground through substation transformers. Here they cause saturation of the transformer core which can lead to a variety of problems. Increased heating has caused transformers to burn out. Also, extra harmonics generated in the transformer produce unwanted relay operations, suddenly tripping out power lines. The stability of the whole system can also be affected as compensators switch out of service. Such a sequence of events led to the Quebec blackout of March 13, 1989, which left the whole province without power for over 9 hours.

How GIC affect power systems

Illustration of Geomagnetically Induced Currents.  Description follows.

Geomagnetically induced currents (GIC) are driven by the electric fields produced by the magnetic field variations that occur during a geomagnetic disturbance. Because of their low frequency compared to the AC frequency, the geomagnetically induced currents appear to a transformer as a slowly-varying DC current. GIC flowing through the transformer winding produces extra magnetisation which, during the half-cycles when the AC magnetisation is in the same direction, can saturate the core of the transformer. This results in a very spikey AC waveform with increased harmonic levels that can cause misoperation of relays and other equipment on the system and lead to problems ranging from trip-outs of individual lines to collapse of the whole system.

Transformer Heating

Example of dammaged transformer Image illustrating an example of dammaged tranformer. Image illustrating an example of dammaged tranformer.

Saturation of the transformer core produces extra eddy currents in the transformer core and structural supports which heat the transformer. The large thermal mass of a high voltage power transformer means that this heating produces a negligible change in the overall transformer temperature. However, localised hot spots can occur and cause damage to the transformer windings.

Cost of Magnetic Storms

The costs to power system operators involve not only replacement of damaged equipment but also the loss of revenue from sale of power. The Quebec blackout on March 13, 1989 had a net cost of about $13.2 million; damaged equipment accounts for about $6.5 million of that estimated cost. The transformer at the Salem, New Jersey, nuclear generating station, that burnt-out during the March 13, 1989 magnetic disturbance, cost several million dollars to replace. Such expensive units are usually built to order and the delivery time is normally about one year. Unusually, in the Salem case, a replacement transformer was available and delivery and installation took only 6 weeks. Even so , having the transformer out of service restricted the power that could be delivered from the Salem generating station and the purchase of replacement power from neighbouring utilities cost about $17 million, far more than the cost of the transformer.

Increasing Vulnerability

The vulnerability of a power system to geomagnetic disturbances is increased when the system is more heavily loaded. Increasing power demand and industry deregulation have both led to power systems being operated closer to their limits making them more vulnerable to outside disturbances. A distinctive feature of GIC effects on power systems is that the problems occur simultaneously on many systems. This is contrary to other types of power system problems, eg lighting strikes or equipment failures, which are more localised. The interconnections of modern power sytems are designed to provide safeguards againts the localised failures, but may be contributing to an increased vulnerability to GIC.

Effets géomagnétiques sur les réseaux électriques

Introduction

Les perturbations géomagnétiques peuvent avoir de sérieuses répercussions sur les réseaux électriques. Les courants électriques induits dans les lignes de transport sont mis à la masse par l'intermédiaire des sous-stations de transformation. Là, ils saturent le noyau du transformateur, suscitant ainsi divers problèmes. En effet, il est déjà arrivé qu'un échauffement fasse brûler des transformateurs. En outre, des harmoniques supplémentaires engendrées dans le transformateur provoquent des activations indésirables de relais, mettant subitement hors circuit des lignes électriques. La stabilité de l'ensemble du système peut également être compromise par suite de la mise hors service de compensateurs. C'est une succession de ce type d'événements qui est à l'origine de la panne du 13 mars 1989 au Québec, qui a laissé l'ensemble de la province sans électricité pendant plus de 9 heures.

Comment les courants induits géomagnétiquement influencent les réseaux électriques

Illustration des champs électriques géomagnétiqeuement induits.  La description suit.

Les courants induits géomagnétiquement sont induits par les champs électriques que créent les variations du champ magnétique au cours d'une perturbation géomagnétique. En raison de leur faible fréquence comparé au courant alternatif, les courants induits géomagnétiquement sont considérés par les transformateurs comme un courant direct variant lentement. Le courant induit géomagnétiquement circulant dans l'enroulement du transformateur engendre une magnétisation supplémentaire qui, pendant les demi-cycles au cours desquels la magnétisation du courant alternatif est dans la même direction, peut saturer le noyau du transformateur. Cela se traduit par une forme d'onde du courant alternatif très dentelée et caractérisée par des niveaux harmoniques accrus pouvant perturber le fonctionnement des relais et autres équipements du système et poser des problèmes allant de la mise hors circuit de lignes individuelles à l'effondrement de l'ensemble du système.

Echauffement des transformateurs

Exemple de transformateur endommager. Image illustrant un exemple de dommage sur transformatteur. Image illustrant un exemple de dommage sur transformatteur.

La saturation du noyau d'un transformateur engendre des courants de Foucault dans le noyau et les supports structuraux, courants qui échauffent le transformateur. En raison de la masse thermique élevée des transformateurs à haute tension, cet échauffement provoque une augmentation négligeable de la température globale du transformateur. Toutefois, il peut y avoir apparition locale de points chauds, qui peuvent endommager les enroulements du transformateur.

Coût des orages magnétiques

Les coûts d'une panne de transformateur subis par les exploitants de réseaux électriques vont au-delà du remplacement du matériel endommagé et comprennent également une perte de revenus provenant de la vente de l'électricité. La panne électrique généralisée qui s'est produite au Québec le 13 mars 1989 a coûté environ 13,2 millions de dollars, les équipements endommagés représentant environ 6,5 millions de dollars du coût estimatif. Pour remplacer le transformateur de la centrale nucléaire de Salem (New Jersey) qui a été complètement grillé durant la perturbation magnétique du 13 mars 1989, il aura fallu débourser plusieurs millions de dollars. Ces pièces très coûteuses sont généralement construites sur mesure et le délai de livraison est normalement de l'ordre d'une année. Fait inhabituel, à Salem, un transformateur de remplacement était disponible et il n'a fallu que six semaines pour effectuer sa livraison et son installation. La mise hors service du transformateur a néanmoins entraîné une baisse de l'électricité livrée par la centrale de Salem et l'achat d'électricité de remplacement des services publics de la région a coûté environ 17 millions de dollars, soit un coût de loin plus élevé que le prix du transformateur.

Accroissement de la vulnérabilité

La vulnérabilité d'un réseau électrique aux perturbations géomagnétiques est accrue lorsque le réseau est lourdement chargé. La demande croissante d'électricité et la déréglementation de l'industrie incite les exploitants à faire fonctionner les réseaux électriques plus près de leurs limites, ce qui rend ces réseaux plus vulnérables aux perturbations extérieures. Une des caractéristiques propres aux courants induits géomagnétiquement (CIG), c'est qu'ils se produisent simultanément sur de nombreux réseaux électriques. Il en est autrement des autres types de problèmes affectant les réseaux électriques comme les coups de foudre ou les défaillances de l'équipement, qui sont plus circonscrits. L'interconnexion des réseaux électriques modernes ont pour objectif de les protéger contre des défaillances localisées, mais elle les rend plus vulnérables aux courants induits géomagnétiquement.